Back to Open Competitions

The Cooden Beach Bowl 2019
Saturday 18th & Sunday 19th May

The History and Format

First played in 1982 the Cooden Beach Bowl is the Club’s Men’s Foursomes Open competition held in May each year.

The competition is over the whole week-end and every pair can play four rounds of golf. The qualifying round is held on the Saturday morning and is a Foursomes Stableford round of 18 holes played off half combined handicaps from the white tees – maximum handicap for any player is 18. Entries from higher handicapper’s are accepted, subject to availability of spaces but these players must play off 18 handicap. There is a maximum entry of 56 pairs for this competition.

After the qualifying round on Saturday morning the top eight scores are placed into division A and play for the Cooden Beach Bowl. All other pairs are placed into divisions B to G, each of eight pairs, according to the rank position achieved by their stableford score.

The competition then adopts a foursome’s match-play knockout format to determine the winners and runners up in each division. The draw for each division is made at Saturday lunchtime and this is announced as soon as all morning rounds have been completed. Saturday afternoon sees the quarter final matches for each division with the winners of those matches progressing to the semi-final and final matches on Sunday in the morning and afternoon respectively. Losing pairs on Saturday afternoon and Sunday morning may enter a Foursomes Stableford Plate competition that takes place on Sunday AM and PM.

The entry fee also includes lunch and afternoon tea on both Saturday and Sunday and the prize giving takes place on Sunday afternoon after all competitions have been completed. There are prizes for all qualifiers in Division A and for each Winner and Runner Up in all other Divisions. There are also subsidiary prizes for the Plate Competition.

Gary Smith & Jack Marsh 2017 & 2018 Winners

Will you steal the crown from Gary & Jack and be our 2019 Cooden Beach Bowl winners?


Gary & Jacks crown was indeed stolen by Tony Rawbone & Colin Andrews from Ashford Golf Club who beat Gary & Jack in the final 4 & 3!

Well done to Tony & Colin, I am sure you will both be back in 2020 to defend.

If you think you could be our 2020 winners the date for your diary is Saturday 16th & Sunday 17th May.